PRICE: $15.50

SR 413LP SR 413LP

LP version. Book Of Air present Vvolk. Inspired by the slow tempo and invisible motion of nature; how the seasons pace without sudden turns, slow and gentle. Seemingly still, yet always in motion. Book Of Air is a series of bundled compositions, this being the second chapter. Opposed to the first quintet release Fieldtone (SR 412LP), the music out of the Vvolk series is played by a group of 18 improvisers with roots in jazz and classical music. The group investigates performing and improvising music, in close relation to present time; what are the possibilities in playing music, when changes in this music pass by unnoticed? How do we as musicians relate to the running time of a performance? How does our hearing and memory react to these slow changes? As a result, Vvolk lets the listener experience music which is less perceived in the present time, but rather occurs in our memory of the past. This clearly challenges the improvising musicians, and makes audience and performers discover new territories in collective improvisation. Vvolk is performed by Stijn Cools - drums; Indre Jurgeleviciuté - kankles; Benjamin Sauzereau - electric guitar; Bert Cools - electric guitar; Nathan Wouters - double bass; Laurens Smet - double bass; Hendrik Vanattenhoven - double bass; Ruben Machtelinckx - electric guitar; Fruz Tonteling - harmonium; Wout Gooris - Rhodes; Niels Van Heertum - euphonium; Thomas Jillings - tenor saxophone; Viktor Perdieus - tenor saxophone; Erik Bogaerts - alto saxophone; Frans van Isacker - alto saxophone; Mathieu Robert - soprano saxophone; Stefan Bracaval - flute; Sep François - drums and melodic percussion.