PRICE: $15.50
01 05 :20
02 06 :08
03 05 :37
04 06 :30
05 06 :18
06 05 :43
07 02 :52
09 05 :37
Mixes & Maxis


Some people call it the renaissance of dub techno -- the deep, the twisted and the reverberant are returning to the dancefloor. Lars Fenin, born in Hamburg and living in Berlin, has been known for that kind of sound for more than ten years already, releasing ingenious stuff on Shitkatapult, Hör Zu, Echocord/Colour, Meteosound and his own label called Dock. Mixes & Maxis is a roundhouse kick of his current work: nine magical dub techno tracks, some of which have already been published on 12"s, but are now available on CD for the first time. Besides blueprint tracks like the brilliant "Done" or "Driven," and more current releases like "Romeo Kalimba" (great Echocord split maxi with "Deadbeat") as well as Fenin's dubstep hit "Seems Like," there are quite a few new treasures to be found here. "Adeto," for example, an incredibly deep ambient track, creating a musical ocean of black and dark blue waves. Just like the extremely funky "Division El Norte" and "Sound And Power" featuring renowned vocalist Gorbi, all tracks stand for quality and a certain groove as well as a natural connection between electronic music, techno and dub. The album's magical moment is an old friend in a new suit: "None Of Them," Fenin's evergreen also featuring Gorbi, has been remixed by Robag Wruhme. When he was still a part of Wighnomy Brothers, Robag had played "None Of Them" over and over again and had placed the track at the top of his DJ charts, so of course he was thrilled to remix the track. And what a remix it turned out to be -- a killer on the dancefloor and still a soulful techno track. The album in general is characterized by a certain timelessness, a constancy of music beyond the borders of electronic, dub or techno. It's depth and soul turning sound into music instead of a fleeting moment of hype. It is the renaissance of longevity, of the soul of music, which drives us all.