PRICE: $14.50
01 04 :38
03 04 :02
04 05 :14
05 03 :36
06 03 :54
07 05 :46
08 03 :44
09 04 :42
10 04 :25
11 03 :28


With their new project Baustelle (trans. "construction site"), Antye Greie and Gudrun Gut are entering the world of chainsaws and pneumatic hammers: a world of murmurs and hissing, hammering and sawing. Greie Gut Fraktion have captured hours of field recordings from construction sites and used the most exciting sounds as the building blocks for their collaboration. And it's this omni-present construction site noise, with all its scraping, scratching, drilling and chiseling that provides the red thread throughout this album. But however great the temptation might be to make purely industrial music with these building site sounds, the two ladies haven't fallen for it. On the contrary, the beats on Baustelle are of course, gripping and the sounds direct, but there's nothing too pushy so that you feel overpowered. And Baustelle is nothing if not diverse. Guitar-noise becomes entangled in downtempo beats. Then there's laid back dub like on "Drilling An Ocean," a track that peters out, frayed, after a couple of minutes, only to take a breath and return to its calm flow. And there's a super-cool, grooving version of the Palais Schaumburg hit "Wir Bauen Eine Neue Stadt." This music looks back on a sense of timing as we know it from new crossover music, conceptual beat and even post-Kraut-dub-industrial-techno. You can lose yourself in this music -- it draws you into its endlessness. The fragments of text that are included are repeated with variations, circling associatively around the topic at hand. The words are whispered, spoken, shouted and sung, although cool and somewhat distant. It all started in winter 2008 when Antye Greie first invited Gudrun Gut to collaborate on a commission for the BBC's Late Junction. From then on, the two artists have combined their creative forces to come up with this album. The initial timbers were laid at Greie's home in Finland. The tracks then gradually took shape throughout 2009 via an online exchange. The album was produced by Gudrun Gut and Antje Greie in their respective studios in Berlin and Finland and the result has been masterfully mixed by Antye Greie.