PRICE: $14.50
01 02 :39
02 03 :43
03 03 :33
05 04 :12
06 02 :34
07 03 :29
08 04 :14
09 03 :28
11 04 :43
12 03 :12
Nights Out

BEC 5772393 BEC 5772393

Re-released for the U.S. in light of Metronomy's 2011 Mercury Prize Nomination (for their third album The English Riviera). This is the CD version of Metronomy's second studio album, 2008's Nights Out. It is their first album to be vocal-led, with self-effacing founding member Joseph Mount stepping up and grabbing the mic for most of the tracks; and, crucially, the first to introduce Metronomy as a three-piece band, rather than a pseudonym for Joseph's solo work. Although Joseph has worked with Gabriel Stebbing (bass, keyboards) and Oscar Cash (sax, keyboards) since their Devon childhoods, it's the success of the trio's live shows that led to the realization that the three schoolfriends are a bonafide group. Nights Out resolutely ignores the current vogue for yelping in a provincial accent about mingers and kebabs, and taps into a more elegant, enduring and truthful pop mood -- that feeling of being at your most lost and alone when crushed into a room full of revellers high on drugs and desperation. Musically, Metronomy march to the beat of their own synthetic drum. But Joseph's experiences of touring the nightclubs of the world, finishing his set, and then feeling unable to join in the surrounding debauchery makes Nights Out the wonky love-child of Giorgio Moroder, New Order, Pet Shop Boys and Unfinished Sympathy. Indeed, "On Dancefloors" might be the saddest song about partying ever made.