PRICE: $26.50
Disc 1
01 05 :50
02 04 :40
03 05 :26
04 05 :01
Disc 2
05 03 :56
06 03 :45
07 04 :43
08 04 :52
09 04 :02
10 04 :47

RLP 3090LP RLP 3090LP

Limited gatefold double LP version on 180 gram vinyl. Includes download coupon for the entire album. Rune Grammofon presents the third album by Norway's Susanna and the Magical Orchestra. After their successful covers album Melody Mountain (RCD 2057CD, 2006), filled with intimate and highly personal takes on mostly well-known songs, they return to the original songwriting skills of their debut album List of Lights and Buoys (RCD 2034CD, 2004) and present us with eight new originals as well as two covers. These new songs were written deep in the Norwegian woods and by the sea, but the topics lay much further away. The music has a retro-futuristic edge to it and is darker and more electronic, the arrangements more evolving and varied, the words reflecting such topics as inner conflict, human relations, outer space, stars and planets, journeys to unknown galaxies, and more. But there's also room for an absolutely stunning interpretation of Roy Harper's beautiful love song "Another Day," and an optimistic ending with the gorgeous chorus of "Someday." The album was recorded in various locations in Norway by the duo themselves and their sound companion Helge Sten (Deathprod), who also mixed and co-produced the album while mastering guru Bob Katz did the finishing touches. Among the guests are Mariam Wallentin from Swedish duo Wildbirds & Peacedrums, Madrugada drummer Erland Dahlen and Susanna's drummer brother Fredrik Wallumrød, this time on vocals. Album art designed by Kim Hiorthøy, who managed to strikingly capture the varied feelings on this album: hazy futurism, with an eerie soul. Susanna Wallumrød (vocals); Morten Qvenild (keyboards).