PRICE: $15.00
01 05 :25
02 03 :39
03 05 :36
04 03 :35
05 04 :59
06 03 :24
07 03 :21
08 05 :04
09 03 :29
10 03 :20
11 03 :44
12 02 :34
Sonata Mix Dwarf Cosmos

RCD 2066CD RCD 2066CD

This is the debut solo album from Norway's Susanna Karolina Wallumrød, who is most known for two sublime albums and a number of quietly powerful concerts with Susanna and the Magical Orchestra, a duo which includes member Morten Qvenild (Jaga Jazzist, Shining, In The Country). This time she is simply "Susanna," and she has written twelve highly personal songs that make up this beautiful and quite extraordinary album. She plays piano and guitar and guests include brother and ECM recording artist Christian Wallumrød (piano), Magical Orchestra partner Morten Qvenild (piano, synth), Big Bang leader Øystein Greni (guitar), The White Birch leader Ola Fløttum (guitar), In The Country drummer Pål Hausken, Helge Sten (guitar, mellotron) and Giovanna Pessi (harp). As Rune Grammofon label head Rune Kristoffersen makes clear: "In these fast and restless times of instant entertainment and shortways to possible success, it's a rare treat to witness a young and genuinely talented singer and writer that operates to such a degree outside trends and fashions. Much in the same way as a young Tim Buckley, Nico or Scott Walker without making too much of those comparisons. We are delighted with this lovely addition to the catalog, a work of uncompromising dedication inviting us to reflect and to listen." Sonata Mix Dwarf Cosmos is produced by Deathprod (Helge Sten).