20 Years Cocoon Recordings
6x12" BOX


To celebrate 20 since inception, Sven Väth's Cocoon Recordings is serving up a special 15 track collection that brings together new and exclusive tracks from artists that have been a huge part of the journey. A suitably spectacular collection that pays homage to one of techno's finest operations. 20 years is a long time in any facet of life, but in techno it is eons. The popular character, much loved DJ and always innovative creative force started out with an early rave techno sound back in the late '80s that he has steered into much broader realms ever since. Väth has ensured Cocoon has always covered all points of the spectrum. Cocoon's unique brand of techno has always been at the heart for the operation and now, these brand new and exclusive tracks confirm that once again. Rampa kicks off with the jittery broken beat techno of "2000" and Emanuel Satie keeps the melodic vibes alive with his wistful "Departure" and then Diynamic label boss Solomun serves up a rare new production "We Will Never Have Today Again" which is a dramatic and epic groove with majestic synth work lighting up the bold drums. Gregor Tresher slips into a more slick and funky drum work out with "Nostalgia (is The Enemy)" and Joseph Ashworth's "Eavesdrop" reaches for deep space with its distant synth swirls and astral atmospheres. Pig & Dan very much came of age through their releases on Cocoon and here offers an intense cosmic workout with "Trauma", while US legend Josh Wink keeps it deep and heads down with his gritty roller "Nuclei". After lush techno trance from Ricardo Tobar comes a heavyweight collaboration between Tiga and Roman Flügel that is designed for those freaky late night hours and then exceptional minimalist Planetary Assault Systems gets you in a spin with his mind-melting cosmic melodies and pounding drum rhythms. There is paranoia and urgency in the excellent work of Jacek Sienkiewicz, dark industry when Andre Galluzzi and Daniel Stefanik link on "The Regulator" and high-grade machine soul from Extrawelt. Croatian mainstay Petar Dundov brings his trademark melodic magic to "Overtone" and things come to a perfect close with the techno warmth and mellifluous synth work of Sebastian Mullaert's "Kikaqu". Limited edition 6x12" vinyl deluxe boxset, with individual fluorescent color sleeves and paper insert; edition of 700.