Kompakt Total 15


The Total compilation series returns in 2015 for its 15th installment, with an ample array of tunes from revered Kompakt mainstays like Wassermann aka Wolfgang Voigt, Superpitcher, Jürgen Paape, Michael Mayer, and more -- yet, the overall stance and content of Total 15 feels just as fresh, thrilling, and playful as back in 1999, when the first Total (KOMP 003CD/KOM 010LP) hit. This might have to do with the sheer talent and unabated creative drive obvious in the work of both up-and-coming and seasoned producers such as Gui Boratto, Dauwd, Vermont (edited by DJ Tennis), Saschienne, COMA, Dave DK, Matias Aguayo, John Tejada, and more. As usual, Kompakt uses this Total compilation to present bestsellers and favorites from its current catalog -- check out the cuts from Kölsch, Audion (feat. Troels Abrahamsen), Terranova (feat. Lydmor & Bon Homme), Agoria, Rex the Dog, Hunter/Game, Guy Mantzur & Roy RosenfelD, Reinhard Voigt, or Blond:ish (feat. Audysea). But as those who follow the Total series know, Kompakt also loves to sneak in previously unheard original music from its core artists, spiced up with exciting input from some of its new inductees. For Total 15, the return of Wolfgang Voigt's concept rave alter ego Wassermann is certainly one of the biggest showstoppers; his "Eisen Mein Herz" is an instant leftfield classic, coupling deconstructed text excerpts from Thomas Mann's 1954 novel Confessions of Felix Krull with a vintage beat 'n' bass combo in all its raucous glory. Jürgen Paape lifts the veil on his sonic musings with the smart futurism of "Manipuri," followed by Michael Mayer's pop concrete jewel "Humm" and Superpitcher's delirious flute stomper "Freiherr." Meanwhile, rising Dutch duo Weval gets a propelling, Total-exclusive remix treatment from up-and-coming Speicher heroes Hunter/Game -- a perfect companion to label ally Patrice Bäumel's "Fenomeno" (vinyl only), one of his finest vocal chop jobs so far. Voigt & Voigt's "Akira" originally stems from the duo's ground-breaking 2012 full-length Die Zauberhafte Welt Der Anderen (KOMP 104CD/KOM 274LP); the "Reeperbahn Mix" (vinyl only) takes the mantra-like source material and infuses it with a decidedly grainy feel -- a funky sound-collage of field recordings, accordion, and beats. Jörg Burger aka The Modernist has the honor of concluding the 2015 installment of Total with "Sacrosanct," a cut from his The Black Frame moniker and proof of his indie pop sensibilities and his impressive skill set when it comes to unadulterated songwriting.