Looking for a Thrill: An Anthology of Inspiration


"The idea for Looking for a Thrill came when label owner Bettina Richards was preparing for the tenth anniversary of Thrill Jockey. Rather than putting together a retrospective on the label, a larger question arose: why do people start labels, and what keeps them going though all the distribution and financial challenges? What got the musicians we work with and admire into music, and what in addition to the joys inherent in the creative process keeps them going? Can you pinpoint the source of someone's passion for music? It seemed so simple and so universal and so rarely addressed by a media focused on commercial success -- the immeasurable energy and motivation derived from an inspiring musical moment. It is that blast of energy, the thrill of discovery that opens a door to many entire personal musical adventures. What if we were able to collect the people who had given us such moments and find out what those moments were for them? We approached filmmaker Braden King in the hopes he might find such an endeavor interesting and worth pursuing. His reaction was immediate and positive. The next step was to approach the musicians and people that we admire who work in music. Participants were given a simple task -- to talk about a musical moment that inspired them. This simple request yielded a wealth of responses. Some chose to talk about a record or a show that was the catalyst for them pursue a career in the arts. Others chose a moment that re-solidified their commitment to music when that commitment was in question. Some chose not a performance or a record but a fellow musician whose life and music are consistent sources of inspiration. Collectively, the stories provide a window of understanding to the energy behind inspiration and creativity. Features in total 112 intensely personal interviews with many of independent music's biggest stars. Those featured include: Ian MacKay, Steve Albini, Mike Watt, Bjork, Yo La Tengo, Vic Chesnutt, Brian Mahan (Slint), Jon Langford, Thurston Moore, Jon Spencer, David Yow (The Jesus Lizard)."