5-8 Weeks

DOME 12345LP DOME 12345LP

Editions Mego are proud to release the complete recorded works of Dome in a deluxe vinyl box set that also includes newly-designed artwork by David Coppenhall, reproductions of the original Atelier Koninck posters that accompanied Dome 1 and Dome 2, an insert with sleeve notes by Howard Jacques and Neil Martinson as well as unseen photos from the period. If that wasn't enough, it also contains a matchbox to put matches in to shake along to your favorite Dome tune! With the demise of the group Wire in 1980, founding members Bruce Gilbert and Graham Lewis joined forces to create Dome. With the assistance of engineer Eric Radcliffe and his Blackwing Studio, Dome took the ethic of "using the studio as a compositional tool" and recorded and released three Dome albums on their own label in the space of 12 months: Dome (July 1980), Dome 2 (October 1980) and Dome 3 (October 1981). A final fourth album, Will You Speak This Word: Dome IV was released on the Norwegian Uniton label in May 1983. These albums represent some of the most beautifully stark and above all timeless exercises in studio experimentation from the early 1980s alternative music scene. With the re-activation of Wire in 1985, it was thought that all Dome activity had ceased. While no new recordings appeared, Dome utilized any spare time to secretly record new pieces. In 1989 dancer/choreographer Michael Clark commissioned them to record a piece for his new ballet "Because We Must." In the same year, they also performed live in Rotterdam and Amsterdam. In 1999, WMO commissioned Dome to record new pieces to accompany the recordings from 1989. This compilation, entitled Yclept, would be the final recordings, to date, that Dome have made. Dome 1-4 appear on vinyl for the first time in over 30 years, whereas the recordings making up Yclept (Dome 5) appear for the first time ever on vinyl. Each LP is housed in a new cover based on the originals. Also includes a matchbox, a postcard, 2 posters and an 8-page 3-fold insert with some essays. Floating-point re-master by Russell Haswell, August 2011. Cut at Dubplates & Mastering by Rashad Becker, August 2011.