3-4 Weeks
The Epic Botanical Beat Suite - Boonghee Music 4


Hu Vibrational's The Epic Botanical Beat Suite - Boonghee Music 4 mixes deep percussive African rhythms and Afro-jazz with elements of hip-hop and electronica. Recorded and mixed at Bill Laswell's state of the art studio, this is the fourth album for Hu Vibrational. Produced and mixed by Adam Rudolph together with longtime Laswell engineer James Dellatacoma, the album features seven world percussionists along several special guests including Bill Laswell hitting the deep pockets on bass plus Norwegian guitar whiz Eivind Aarset creating ethereal electronic palettes. Joining Rudolph in the groove department are percussionists from his Go: Organic Orchestra project: Brahim Fribgane, James Hurt, Matt Kilmer, Tim Kieper, Keita Ogawa and Tripp Dudley. Each of these great drummers has performed extensively worldwide; here they perform Rudolph's rhythm compositions on a wide variety of world percussion. The tracks were then electronically processed and transformed into a true ancient-to-future expression; a dance music style Hu calls "Boonghee Music". With two acclaimed releases on Soul Jazz Records, Beautiful - Boonghee Music 2 (2003) and Universal Mother - Boonghee Music 3 (2006), and one release on Scott Heren's (Prefuse 73) Eastern developments label , Boonghee Music 1 (2002), Hu Vibrational's deep spiritual music draws on the links between Africa, jazz music and avant-garde hip-hop. Adam Rudolph is known for work with Don Cherry, Pharaoh Sanders and other great jazz artists, as well as his 25 year partnership with the legendary Yusef Lateef. He currently also leads his Moving Pictures Octet and the 36 piece Go: Organic Orchestra. Almost ten years since the last Hu Vibrational release of Boonghee Music, Rudolph turns his creative energies back to Hu by creating a deep groove masterpiece - indeed; a vision of future dance music. As Tommy Chong so aptly puts it, "When you hit a groove, it's not you; it's the spirit world." Personnel: Adam Rudolph - bata, slit drum, rebolo, gangkogoui, udu, percussion; Brahim Frigbane - cajon, tarija, udu, percussion; James Hurt - sogo, kidi, igbo bell, udu, percussion; Matt Kilmer - frame drum, djembe, kanjira, udu, percussion; Tim Kieper - dusun'goni, pandeiro, caxixi, udu, percussion; Keita Ogawa - earthtone drum, frame drum, hadjira, pandeiro, udu, percussion; Tripp Dudley - kanjira, cajon, bayan, frame drum, udu, percussion; Eivind Aarset - electric guitars; Steve Gorn - bansuri flutes; Bill Laswell - electric bass; Alex Marcelo - Fender Rhodes.