Ships When IN STOCK.
Balance 030


Double LP version. Includes MP3 download of the mix. Max Cooper's blend of the artistic and scientific schools of thought have steadily built him up to become one of the standout electronic musicians of his generation. His left-of-center approach makes for a truly timeless mix for the 30th edition of the Balance series. Cooper emerged from Nottingham's club scene in the 2000s, holding down a residency at the city's influential Firefly nights where he played turntablist sets across six decks with his fellow resident. From there he became an eminent producer of brooding, densely melodic techno. He has since turned into a more multifarious artist who borders experimental electronica, ambient, and IDM within and alongside his dancefloor-driven output. Wearing several hats these days -- DJ, producer, label owner with his burgeoning Mesh imprint, creator of art installations, consultant for new technologies -- he is a veritable polymath. On a technical level, the mix is drenched with subtle detailing, editing, rearranging -- even binaural processing only audible on headphones that appears to make sounds move around the listener's head in all directions. Exclusives come in the form of Coopers's own "Balance (Perc Tool)" -- self-explanatory -- and the blissful depths of "Music Of The Tides", constructed using an intricate binaural particle cloud simulator plugin created by Rob Clouth. Clouth also provides three other tracks on the mix. New English act Brecon provide sumptuous broken beat electronica on another exclusive, "Half Light", and Cooper's remix of Nils Frahm's Juno-60 based live jam, "For", which finally gets an official release. During this incredible 118-minute odyssey you'll hear field recordings, brooding soundscapes, hypnotic piano modulations, deep atmospheric techno, heavenly melodies, glitchy electro-pop, hazy ambient passages, ravey breakbeats, glitchy drum & bass, and even some Thom Yorke (Atoms For Peace). Also features Ben Lukas Boysen, Bing And Ruth, Kimyan Law, Com Truise, Alix Perez, and Vaetxh.