1-2 Weeks
Adios Senor Pussycat


2018 repress; LP version. Michael Head (The Strands, Shack, The Pale Fountains) continues his Michael Head & The Red Elastic Band project with the beautiful and evocative Adiós Señor Pussycat, the first album of new material from Head since 2006. Recorded in his Head's hometown of Liverpool from March 2016 through June 2017, and the culmination of four years of hard work, Adiós Señor Pussycat is equal to Head's finest moments and further cements his reputation as one of his generation's greatest songwriters. Since beginning a self-imposed hiatus from music in 2008, Michael Head has been working with a fluid concept of an ever-rotating band to provide a flexible platform for the range of his live and recorded works. He unveiled Michael Head & The Red Elastic Band in 2013 with the Artorius Revisited EP, and followed this in 2015 with the Velvets In The Dark/Koala Bears 7". Fate, bad luck, and circumstance have often conspired to deny Head his rightful dues. A soulful and poetic genius, he has been loved and lauded by fellow artists and critics alike, after starting out in the early 1980s with The Pale Fountains, with whom he recorded a brace of acclaimed albums (Pacific Street (1984) and ...From Across The Kitchen Table (1985)). He subsequently formed Shack with his brother John and went on to record five albums over almost 20 years, including the much-loved and acclaimed Waterpistol (1995) and H.M.S. Fable (1999) (for which the NME hailed Head as "our greatest songwriter"), while 1997 saw the release of what is widely regarded as his classic work, The Magical World of The Strands (MEGAUK 024CD/LP). Adiós Señor Pussycat, produced by Steve Powell and Michael Head, features the following musicians: Michael Head, vocals and acoustic guitar; Steve Powell, electric and acoustic guitars; Phil Murphy, drums; Tom Powell, bass guitar; Nina, piano; Dan Rogers, electric guitar; Rod Skipp, cello; Dewi Tudor Jones, violin; Helen Tonge, viola; Martin Smith, trumpet; Andy Diagram, trumpet; Simon James, saxophone; Steve Powell, Joanne Head, Phil Murphy, and Mary McCombs, backing vocals; and Michael Head, Phil Murphy, and Karina Townsend, percussion.