In The Woodland Of Weir

ED 1806CD ED 1806CD

Early Dawn present a reissue of The Little Boy Blues' In The Woodland Of Weir, originally released in 1968. The late '60s seem like a lake of great music releases without a bottom. Whenever you think there is no way to go deeper into the mists of obscurity, you stumble over another crown jewel from the inner sanctum of garage rock, acid pop, and power psychedelia. The Little Boy Blues emerged from the simmering Chicago scene of the mid-to-late '60s where the contemporary beat fused with elements of soul, jazz, blues, and funk, tinged with dreamy harmonies of the most colorful kind to become acid and garage rock -- sometimes both at the same time. You could literally experience the development of fuzz pedals in rock music spinning those old records including "In The Woodland Of Weir". The sawing opening chords of "Cathedral" make sure you know what you are about to listen to. The buzzing heavy guitars raise dirt hand in hand with a sluggish beat before a pastoral organ melody divides the tune into half and after that the seething maelstrom of heaviness overruns you once again. There is more than just this dirty caveman blues rock; "Seed Of Love" is a slow psychedelic pop tune with some wild and explosive fuzzed-out lead guitar, wickedly insane flute kicking in from time to time and a bone-grinding organ to contrast the thought provoking vocal melody and the dreamy atmosphere. "The Great Train Robbery" hits you straight in the face as a brutal proto punk anthem, an aggressive, furious rock eruption with a rather monotonous vocal line. And "Mr. Tripp Wouldn't Listen" with some sweet string section on a carpet of utterly distorted rhythm guitars, howling and scrunching, spiced with desperate vocals that thrill you down to your bones. Hard garage rock for all freaks into US heroes such as The Seeds, The Count Five, The Third Bardo, and The Music Machine or English cult acts like The Troggs, The Who, and The Yardbirds, with some great outstanding songs on its score. Includes nine bonus tracks.