New Works

NEOS 11105CD NEOS 11105CD

Tobias Peter Maria Schneid, who was born in 1963 in Rehau and grew up in Munich and Königsbrunn near Augsburg, already won numerous prizes and awards for his compositions while still a student in Würzburg (with Bertold Hummel and Heinz Winbeck). Tobias PM Schneid: "In my music, I use traditional material, and I am not afraid of its being hackneyed and obsolete. I do try, however, to treat this material in my very own way. In so doing, I feel like I'm on a cliff, but I prefer that to moving on secure terrain." Schneid has been teaching music theory and composition at the Conservatory/Academy of Music in Würzburg since 1997. With his striking musicality, instinctive stylistic certainty and musical maturity, the young cellist Maximilian Hornung, whose career began when he won the German Music Council Competition in 2005, is taking the international music scene by storm. The "beacon of hope for a new generation of musicians" (Die Zeit) received an ECHO Klassik prize as the best newcomer of the year for his first Sony CD and was awarded a fellowship by the Borletti-Buitoni Trust in February 2012. Sony Classical recently released his recording of Dvorák's "Cello Concerto" with the Bamberg Symphony under Sebastian Tewinkel, which was awarded an ECHO Klassik prize as "Best Cello Concerto Recording of the Year" in October 2012. As cellist of the Tecchler Trio, in which he played until 2011, he won the First Prize of the ARD Music Competition in 2007. Maximilian Hornung is supported and sponsored by the Anne-Sophie Mutter Circle of Friends Foundation. As a soloist and chamber musician, Esther Hoppe (violin) has made a name for herself as a well-versed and stylistically confident violinist. Musicians such as Heinz Holliger, András Schiff and Bernard Haitink hold her in high esteem for "her personal style and impeccably good taste." Benjamin Engeli (piano), born in 1978, comes from a family of musicians and started his musical education on various instruments at an early age. In 2003 he became a founding member of the Tecchler Trio, which won First Prize at the International ARD Music Competition in Munich in 2007.