Interstellar Skeletal


Gatefold LP version. Pressed on milky clear 180-gram vinyl. Following their 2013 mini-album Healing (AUK 108CD/LP), Weird Owl are back in 2015 with a full-length titled Interstellar Skeletal. For the first time since their formation in 2004, Weird Owl have kept the same lineup for consecutive releases, and Interstellar Skeletal reveals further explorations into the psychic canyons mined on Healing. Their psychedelic postcards are written in the cosmic breathiness of the synthesizer and the alien ululations of a guitar tuned to secret frequencies, rumbling through the ages on illuminated rhythmic grids. Each track on Interstellar Skeletal serves as an interdimensional portal to free zones beyond the usual terrestrial veil, whether it is via odd jungle shamanism ("Silver Ziggurats"), the WWII bomber as spiritual metaphor ("Flying Fortress"), death personified as an albino lycanthrope ("White Werewolf"), or the unsettling might of an extraterrestrial deity crashing a beach picnic ("God"). Interstellar Skeletal was recorded and mixed by Jeffrey Berner (Psychic TV, NAAM, Dead Stars) at Galuminum Foil Studio in Brooklyn in the fall of 2014, following Weird Owl's first-ever European tour. Although neither meticulously aped nor mindlessly conjured, the familiar influences of Spacemen 3, The 13th Floor Elevators, and The Brian Jonestown Massacre continue to find a home in Weird Owl's music, perhaps mostly in spirit form. Weird Owl was formed in Brooklyn, NY, in 2004 and has released two full-length LPs on Tee Pee Records, a mini-album on 'a' Recordings, Ltd. and several self-released EPs, including 2007's Nuclear Psychology. Their presence and longevity in the New York psych scene has garnered international attention and they have shared stages with bands such as The Brian Jonestown Massacre, White Hills, NAAM, Graveyard, King Tuff, Hopewell, Earthless, The Lovetones, Sleepy Sun, Assemble Head in Sunburst Sound, Quest for Fire, Spindrift, The Black Angels, Spectrum, Wooden Shjips, and others, including at the 2011 Austin Psych Fest and the 2014 Eindhoven Psych Lab in the Netherlands. As of this release, Weird Owl is John Cassidy (bass synth/bass guitar, synth), J. David Nugent (synth, vocals), Sean Reynolds (drums), and Trevor Tyrrell (vocals, guitar, synth). Anton Newcombe states: "The message is one of cosmic harmony and simplicity. The perfection of geometry and above all, beauty. Sometimes the messenger is a man and sometimes the messenger is an owl."