Balance 020


Swiss melodic techno bastion Deetron has chosen to embrace both the past and present of mixing disciplines on Balance 20. CD1 was mixed digitally, with additional production and editing in Cubase and Wavelab, and CD2 was recorded with three turntables and an Allen & Heath mixer -- and some very special dubplates. Deetron's mix takes in seminal classics, exclusives, rare cuts, lesser-known gems, and a healthy blend of big names and underground heroes. CD1 sees the blissful tones of "Nine" from Autechre and a tease of Model 500's twinkling "Infoworld." Detroit-style beauty comes from Unabombers' take on Shit Robot's "Losing My Patience," arpeggiated proto-trance lushness from Todd Terje's "Bonysh" and hypnotic magic from DJ Koze's "The Geklöppel Continues." Move D is drafted in for some jazzy piano action on "Your Personal Healer," leading into Carl Craig's re-rub of System 7. There's a collaboration between Radiohead's Thom Yorke, Four Tet and Burial, and a little funk colors the mix via Maceo Plex. Caribou's remix of Virgo Four's "It's A Crime" ups the ante, Mr. Beatnick's "Synthetes" takes us in a different direction, and Cavalier's "Kaimanawa" brings deep house flavor to the table. Ratcliffe's take on Throbbing Gristle's "Hot On The Heels Of Love" lays its emotion-drenched chords under loops of Nicolas Jaar's detached voice, before LV, Message To Bears and Zaki Ibrahim's "Explode." A dubbed-out closing section gives way to an eccentric finale, in the form of Savage Progress' bugged-out and vampy "Heart Begin To Beat." CD2 is focused on straight-up house and techno grooves, keeping the momentum and energy high. Ripperton's "Swept Illusions" leads up to Âme's stunning reworking of Osunlade's "Envision" and the effervescent charm of Deetron's "Croque." Super Flu, Sneaker and Wbeeza enter in old skool jack mode while Reggie Dokes' piano beauty "Haiti" flies effortlessly over the top of a mysterious, snappy old skool tech house white label (Shed) -- and then Romanthony joins the party. Simon Garcia's "Tears In Vain" takes the mix to a higher plane, sublime Dutch techno leads into another Four Tet gem, and Deetron's edit of Radio Slave's "Let It Rain" ups the tension. Lone leads into actual retro techno from Derrick May, then an epic slice of Carl Craig magic -- and what better way to finish than with an exclusive dubplate from our faithful curator? Other artists include: Reno Wurzbacher, Julischkaa, Julio Bashmore, BNJM, Wishmountain, System 7, Resonance, Lawrence, Dave Aju, Avus, Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto, Andy Stott, I:Cube, Roots Panorama, Mampo Village, Mathew Jonson, Mike Dehnert, Redshape, Johanna Knutsson, Minilogue, Surgeon, Cosmin TRG, Rhythm Is Rhythm, Ronny & Renzo and C2 Cinema.