Trouble Man
LP + 7"

HS 030LP HS 030LP

A soul-jazz trip from the streets of Brooklyn & Afro-Paris to the Cuban bush by a legend of the New York music scene. Former busker and NYC no wave scenester and all-around amazing New York life-force Robert Aaron -- working beautifully here in a timeless soul-jazz inspired mode -- capturing that vibe wonderfully on this effort for the Heavenly Sweetness label. Keys, smooth, but lively saxes and some great percussion are usually at play in these tunes -- which bear the influences of greats from Pharoah Sanders to Gato Barbieri in spirit and instrumentation. Aaron plays a lot of instruments, here working on saxes, piano, Hammond organ and electric bass, with Cheick Tidiane Seck on organs and piano, Marc Bertaux on bass, Steve McCraven on drums, Roger Raspail and Emilo Del Monte on percussion, Jose Palmer on guitar and guests Anthony Joseph who sings on "The Saddest Kiss," guitarist Monnette Sudler and alto sax player Suleyman Hakim. Trouble Man is a journey in jazz as it was lived and defined in the '70s; no borders, no conventions. Robert Aaron's music, with its range of saxophones and keyboards (piano, Hammond organ, Wurlitzer), has a unique style that is hard to find in this age of mathematical solos. When you listen to this album, you experience the profound and now rare feeling of what drives the playing and writing of an exceptional musician. We call it "soul," that paradoxical state when the profane and the sacred, joy and sorrow merge into one. We hear it less and less in increasingly rational musical recordings because it can only happen when there is a live connection between two hearts. Includes "Trouble Man," "A Song For Monette," "Maimouna," "Thembi," "Bombo" and "Sweet Obsession." Includes a bonus 7" featuring the tracks "The Saddest Kiss" and "Flower Like A River."