Slow Killer

KK 032CD KK 032CD

Slow Killer is the new Donna Regina release by the Cologne-based melancholic electro pop duo Regina (vocals) and Günther Janssen (guitar). Slow Killer is a melodic tribute to their travels to foreign lands and unusual places, and the album fairly breathes with the excitement of meeting new people amidst the rush of getting from place to place. Since their last release late in September 2003, Regina and Günther Janssen together with their DJ and samples-trustee Steffen Irlinger have had more live appearances than in the preceding eleven years together. Thus, more new friends and old acquaintances have participated in Slow Killer than on any other previous release. The French musician and producer Bertrand Burgalat -- who set to music an album by and with Michel Houellebecq -- produced parts of "Lazy Heart." Sebastian Carreras, the musician and composer of the successful Argentinian trio Entre Rios wrote the lyrics to "Mirame, Miraba," which is Donna Regina's first track in Spanish and the first and only one which Regina Janssen didn't write herself. Thomas Fehlmann, a very early fan of the band himself, always wanted to remix one of their songs, but Donna Regina have taken it one step further and asked him to produce "Enemy - No Enemy." Labelmate Pascal Schäfer plays saxophone on two tracks and "Mirame, Miraba," and Theo Roos plays the mouth organ. With their sampled rhythms and analogue sounds, their swift and light changes from track to song and back, Donna Regina occupy their very own spot within the great world of beautifully-arranged pop music.