Earth Scum (Clear/Transparent Blue Vinyl)


Northern bred, South London based duo FYI Chris announce their debut album, Earth Scum. Following 2020 EP, Black Dragon Loop, "Scum of the Earth" is a nod to the duo's Northern roots and a signal to their friends and fam ethos, featuring Watson's uncle -- Mancunian poet Thick Richard. Blending swirling synths with punk energy, on "Scum of the Earth" Thick Richard's no-frills, spoken word -- "but just remember this planet is made out of dirt, when you call me the scum of the earth" -- is peppered with broken beats and distorted vox lines. Originally a track made from a live recording of Thick Richard taken in the wee hours of the morning in the smoking area of Corsica Studios about eight years ago, he managed to re-record during the UK lockdown in 2020, adding verses from another poem, "People in Crack Houses Shouldn't Throw Rocks". A duo with strong creative vision, follow Thick Richard cycling around the canals of Manchester, tinnies in hand, in the glitchy, wigged out visuals for "Scum of the Earth", directed and edited by Dilesh Patel. Traversing post-punk, jazz, techno, weirdo house, and beyond with a psychedelic spin, across twelve tracks Earth Scum promises insight into the multiverse of FYI Chris. The duo pay homage to their strong sense of community and life as they know it in South London and the North of England, nodding to friends and family along the way. Sonically, the pair showcase their varied palettes and musicality with a darker and more rugged multi-instrumental approach, while shining a light on their gallows sense of humor. Hailing from the North, FYI Chris (Chris Watson and Chris Coupe) met in South London -- fast becoming key players in that tight-knit local community as well as the global dance music scene. Regulars at Peckham's Rye Wax and often at the helm of the Rye Wax radio show; pre-pandemic, the duo could also be found playing gigs in esteemed underground venues across the globe. With their breakthrough release No Hurry / Juliette on esteemed local label Church in 2015, FYI Chris have since released on revered platforms including Rhythm Section, Toy Tonics, Banoffee Pies, remix work for Ninja Tune. Also features Pinty, Simeon Jones, Simeon Jones, and DJ Morris. Limited first pressing of 300 includes perforated "Acid Tab" print by Miles Davies; crystal clear/transparent vinyl.