Balance 027


Magda's Balance 027 indulges both the cerebral, boundary-pushing side of her musical make-up and her more dancefloor-focused side, which is, of course, not without its kooks, quirks, and moments of oddity. "The most important thing is the narrative -- what you're trying to say and how," she says of the process of putting her selections together. "That's why I love the idea of a two-mix compilation because it allows for lots of experimentation and space." The first disc, titled Weird Mix, is a journey through the outer reaches of electronica, with experimental soundscapes like Dinos Chapman's "Alltid" side-by-side with more conventional slivers of tripped-out melody like NYMA & Carreno Is LB's stuttering "Solaria." Magda leads the listener from these more abstract pieces through the electro-jazz of Gregory Fleckner Quintet into wigged-out 4/4 selections, ushering in a warped dancefloor where percolating concoctions like Hauntologists' "Shakes" are the norm. "I definitely don't expect everyone to like it and I'm fine with that," Magda says. "I just want to open my eyes wider and keep searching for more." The weird factor spills over into the second disc, Club Mix, with the bruising textures of Minor Science's "The Beckoner" and squealing analog freakiness from The Mole & Hreno bringing the intensity from the outset. From there on it's far from a linear journey, but if there's a recurring theme across the second disc, it's the enduring sound of acid. Murat Tepeli's "P.S.A. (Play Stop Acid)" sets the ball rolling, Rework's rampant "In a Dance" and XDB's "Inywa" both taking the baton and pass it on. A smattering of exclusives includes Mathew Jonson & Jesse Siminski's jacking rework of Seth Troxler's "Evangelon" and the severely wonky undulations of Magda's own "Trailerfork." This compilation displays the sound of a true crate digger; a dedicated DJ who searches far and wide for inspiration and fascination. It truly embodies every element of her eclectic sound, and is sure to unearth many an unknown gem for even the most avid of electronic aficionados. Also includes tracks by Tomas More, Jahiliyya Fields, Tase, Farben Presents James Din A4, Odd Soul, Luc Ringeisen, Wishmountain, Cornerbred, Odei, #., Brett Johnson, CV30X, Nicholas Desamory (feat. Lucile Desamory), Kaitaro, Rotorik, Errorsmith, Shackleton, Andrew Pekler, Marc Houle, Alliv Sobol, Stefny Winter, Trus'me (remixed by Truncate), Samuli Kemppi, Etcher, T.B. Arthur, Marcel Dettmann, DVS1, Lester Fitzpatrick, Birdsmakingmachine, Sandman, Gabriel Ferreira, Tom Trago, Transllusion, and Obergman.