Happy Village

RCD 2224CD RCD 2224CD

Back in 2020, Kafé Hærverk, Oslo's live hotspot for a wide range of jazz and experimental music invited Master Oogway to do monthly concerts from August to December, bringing along a guest for each occasion. Two had to be moved to 2021 due to Covid restrictions, but the other three were recorded for possible use later. Initially, Rune Grammofon thought about doing a "best of" from all of the recordings, but after further listening it soon dawned on the label that the concert with Henriette Eilertsen was nothing less than magical. To make room for the 45-minute vinyl edition, Rune Grammofon had to drop one of the five pieces that were played on the night, and also make two minor edits. Other than that, this is what was played, there are no overdubs or cosmetic treatments. Henriette Eilertsen is part of the fertile and exciting environment around the Motvind label, and a member of Billy Meier and Andreas Røysum Ensemble. She released her solo debut Poems For Flute on Motvind in 2021. Håvard Nordberg Funderud finished his Bachelors at the Norwegian Academy of Music in 2018 and also studied in Gothenburg and Copenhagen. He is involved in several projects, Master Oogway being his priority. Lauritz Lyster Skeidsvoll and Karl Erik Horndalsveen are both educated from the same academy in Oslo as Håvard, while Martin Heggli Mellem is educated from the jazz program at NTNU in Trondheim. Happy Village is Master Oogway's third album, their second on Rune Grammofon. The music on the previous outing two years ago, Earth And Other Worlds (RCD 2213CD/RLP 3213LP) was all written by Håvard, while the music on Happy Village is written by Karl Erik, one track co-written with Håvard. Happy Village finds the band in a more lyrical and exuberant mood than before, in no small part due to Henriette's beautiful contributions. Personnel: Håvard Nordberg Funderud - guitar and 12-string guitar; Lauritz Heitmann Skeidsvoll - saxophone; Martin Heggli Mellem - drums; Karl Erik Hornsdalsveen - double bass; Henriette Eilertsen - flute. The album was brilliantly mixed in Athletic Sound by Dag Erik Johansen.