RCD 2082CD RCD 2082CD

This is the fourth full-length release from The Low Frequency In Stereo. Founded in 2001 in Haugesund on the west coast of Norway, they have been called the band with one foot in Pompeii and one in space. With their first three albums released from 2002 to 2006, they have developed from an instrumental lo-fi-post-rock band that Pitchfork dubbed "psych-garage dronemeisters" to a full-blown, focused and fresh-sounding rock ensemble with great songs and a mix of dark atmospheres and catchy choruses. From the Eastern-tinged pop flirt of "Starstruck" to the near 10-minute cosmic groove-trip that is "Solar System," the new album from this excellent group finds them in top form and taking a big leap from their previous, Norwegian Grammy-nominated album. A sharper and more focused effort without a weak track in sight, Futuro is both industrial and rough as well as polished and streamlined. There are nods to fellow Norwegians 120 Days as well as Stereolab, Can, Joy Division and even The B-52's, but first of all, this is a group that have perfected their own sound from album to album and through periods of extensive touring, working up some well-deserved hype in the process. Per Steinar Lie (bass, organ, voice, guitars), Ørjan Haaland (drums, percussion, organ, voice) and Hanne Andersen (organ, percussion, trumpet, voice, guitars) are founding members, while Njål Clementsen (guitars, organ, piano, voice) and Linn Frøkedal (organ, voice) both joined ranks before the recording of Futuro. Clementsen and Frøkedal are also members of up-and-coming group Megaphonic Thrift. Guest musicians include Rune Grammofon-affiliates Nils Økland and Kjetil Møster (Ultralyd) and the album is produced by wonderboy Jørgen Træen, who has also worked with Jaga Jazzist, Kaizers Orchestra, The National Bank, and Sondre Lerche.