Meditation / Resurrection

AUM 104-05CD AUM 104-05CD

2023 repress. "Meditation / Resurrection is a double-album presenting a bounty of beautiful new William Parker compositions performed by two of his flagship ensembles, the Quartet -&- In Order To Survive. It was recorded & mixed live during a one-day studio session in late 2016. With the tone of the pieces & performances reflecting our current moment, this is Parker & the groups' follow-up to 2013's epic Wood Flute Songs box (2013). At the core of both groups is Parker's foundational bass together with rhythm twin, drummer Hamid Drake. Their partnership -- two decades deep now -- is one of the greatest in the history of drums & bass. Alto saxophonist Rob Brown -- a supremely gifted improviser, as is every musician here -- is likewise present throughout. Pianist Cooper-Moore features on album/CD2. He has been a very significant catalyst in the world of creative music for over 40 years. As William writes in the notes, 'Cooper-Moore is one of the special people who speaks and plays from the heart all the time with power and grace. If my music has had any success in last 20 years it is because he has been a major inspiration and contributor.' Cooper-Moore will be the Lifetime Achievement Honoree at the 2017 edition of the Vision Festival, NYC. Trumpeter Jalalu-Kalvert Nelson appears on album/CD1. Hailing from Oklahoma City, and a resident of Switzerland since 1994, he is a major figure in his own right as a composer of modern classical and world music, and is well-versed in the language of blues, jazz and improvisation. From the liner notes, 'Jalalu is always able to transform any music situation into a magical experience.' William Parker's exceptional gift as a composer of beautiful melodies and infectious rhythms have long been intrinsic to his art, and it has always been on full display in the work of the quartets featured here. Being that these groups are among the highest caliber jazz bands of our time, Parker's luminous compositions are brought to blossom into vibrant kaleidoscopes of sound. Packaged in deluxe 8-panel digipak with extensive notes by William Parker on the music and more."