Hawk to the Hunting Gone


You Are Wolf (aka Kerry Andrew) explores English and American folk music, fusing source material with leftfield pop, gentle touches of electronica and a hint of spoken-word, all melded with an array of wild vocal techniques. Debut album Hawk to the Hunting Gone (produced by MaJiKer) was made with the backing of the PRS Foundation for Music's Women Make Music scheme, which allowed Kerry to developed a set of songs based around British birds in folklore (or "birdlore," if you will) that provides the backbone of this very unique record. Six of the album's 10 tracks are adapted in part or in whole from traditional British folk songs, but You Are Wolf's approach to arranging the material is anything but traditional. That said, leading roots music magazine fRoots, ever forward-thinking, are already championing the record with a feature on Kerry (penned by wyrd-folk connoisseur Jeanette Leech), set to appear in the May 2014 issue with an album track appearing on the accompanying downloadable playlist. Standout track "Doves" fuses "When Doves Cry" by '80s US pop legend Prince with the traditional song "Turtle Dove" and features fellow folk maverick Alasdair Roberts on guest vocals, while "The Buzzard's Heart" takes the poem "Answers" by TS Eliot Prize nominee Robin Robertson and sets it to music. Kerry's music has been played on BBC Radio 6 Music by Tom Robinson, Gideon Coe and Stuart Maconie, Radio 3's Late Junction and New York's premier indie radio station WFUV. She has appeared twice on BBC Radio 3's The Verb, writing a specially-commissioned new song for the show. Kerry was chosen to be an EDFSS "Folk Rising" artist in 2010, appearing as part of a concert series curated by Sam Lee's Nest Collective at the home of the EFDSS, Cecil Sharp House. As YAW, Kerry has supported the likes of Martin Carthy, Alasdair Roberts and Laura J. Martin. Elsewhere, as Kerry Andrew, she's a composer of experimental vocal and choral music and she is also a member of adventurous a cappella trio Juice, punky/jazz crew DOLLYman, and folk-jazz sextet Metamorphic.