The Future Is Your Past (Alternate Cover)


CD version. Alternate cover. Anton Newcombe -- frontman, songwriter, composer, studio owner, multi-instrumentalist, producer, engineer, father, force of nature -- returns with the Brian Jonestown Massacre's 20th full-length studio album Your Future Is Your Past on his own label A Recordings. The lead track Fudge was released on 30th September. It is 30 years since the release of their first single "She Made Me / Evergreen", released in 1992. As leader of the Brian Jonestown Massacre, Newcombe had already established himself as a visionary songwriter, a man to whom making music wasn't a lifestyle choice or a hipster haircut but the very fabric of existence itself. Instead of saying yes to everything like many of his peers Anton Newcombe was different. He was going to say no to everything. Much of this was documented on the controversial documentary Dig!, one of the best rock documentaries ever made. Brian Jonestown Massacre's shoegazing-tinged debut album Methodrone (AUK 008CD/LP) was released in 1995 and since then numerous bandmembers have joined Newcombe on his sonic escapades, but he has remained the sole constant and creative mastermind. There have been a further 19 albums under the Brian Jonestown Massacre moniker since then, each embarking on their own mind-expanding adventure and exploring the outer realms of rock n' roll; psychedelic rock, country-blues, snarling rock n' roll, blissed-out noise-pop and more. Along the way, Newcombe has established himself as a once-in-a-lifetime talent who saw the direction in which mainstream indie-rock was heading and opted to take the long way round. He's hopped around the globe, from the West Coast to New York, from Manhattan to Iceland, and then to Berlin, where he's lived for 14 years and has two flats, one to live in and one that's been converted into his studio. He goes there six days a week to work and write and record and produce. After a hugely prolific 2010s that saw the release of eight long-players and one mini-album, Newcombe had been going through a period of writer's block when one day he picked up his 12-string guitar and "The Real" (the opening track on previous album Fire Doesn't Grow on Trees) came out of him. After that, they tracked a song every day for 70 days and had two albums ready to go by the end. Joining Newcombe in the studio for The Future Is Your Past were Hakon Adalsteinsson (guitar) and Uri Rennert (drums).