Karl Marx's 200th

KR 058CD KR 058CD

28 artists celebrate the 200th anniversary of the great philosopher and economist Karl Marx with a benefit compilation. Exclusive/previously unreleased tracks by AGF, Aidan Baker, Frank Bretschneider, Natalie Beridze, Schneider TM, Kammerflimmer Kollektief, Reinhold Friedl, Jasmine Guffond, Caspar Brötzmann, Andreas Reihse (Kreidler), and many more. In times of an untamed capitalism, seemingly endless greed and persisting exploitation of underprivileged humans, the 200th anniversary of Karl Marx is a welcome and necessary reason to remember the great philosopher and economist's theories on capitalism and to re-think the state of the world of today, look out for alternative ways of economic organization and appropriate means to bridge the gap between rich and poor. 28 artists express their upset with the current state of society by contributing a track to this benefit compilation -- with one exception, these tracks are exclusive or previously unreleased, adding up to two hours of experimental music from diverse genres like ambient/drone, electronics, electro-acoustic, noise, contemporary music, etc. Besides the music, Karl Marx's 200th provides essays and philosophical reflections by Nina Power (The Guardian, Wire), Kerstin Stakemeier (professor for art theory and mediation at the Academy Of Fine Arts Nuremberg), feminist philosopher Ewa Majewska, artist ME Raabenstein, and Alex Gawronski (Sydney College Of The Arts, University Of Sydney). Also features Nicolas Wiese, ME Raabenstein, Hans Castrup, Gitter, Yr Lovely Dead Moon, Pharoah Chromium, Alexandre Babel, Marc Weiser, Jens Pauly, Dominika Jerkic, Narrow Bridges, Nickolas Mohanna, Philippe Petit, Seda Mimaroğlu, Wi Tiarks, Guido Möbius, Porya Hatami, and Warnings.