EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO Vol. 7: 40 Years Anthology Vol. 2

NEOS 11516CD NEOS 11516CD

The EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO des SWR, founded in 1971, views itself as an interface between compositional ideas and their technical realization. Every year several composers and musicians are invited to accept a fellowship in order to realize their works with the EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO's special equipment in interaction with its staff members -- experts in computer music, sound designers, studio engineers, and sound directors. The studio then takes an active role in the worldwide performance of these works. With more than 40 years of activity in the international music scene, the studio has become the leading center for ambitious works of music with live electronics. It gives concerts on an ongoing basis at all major festivals (including Berliner Festwochen, Wiener Festwochen, Salzburg Festival, Festival d'Automne à Paris, Venice Biennale) and in renowned music theaters and concert halls (including Teatro alla Scala in Milan, Carnegie Hall in New York, Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brussels, and Teatro Real in Madrid). Its outstanding productions include works by such significant composers as Pierre Boulez, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Cristóbal Halffter, Vinko Globokar, and Luigi Nono. Indeed, the latter composer produced almost the whole of his late music in close collaboration with the EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO and its staff. This CD includes Shu Hai mitamen behatalat kidon (1997) by Chaya Czernowin (b. 1957) and ab II (1996/1997) by Mark Andre (b. 1964). Czernowin's piece, for one female voice and nine pre-recorded reflections with live electronics, is performed by Noa Frenkel, alto voice, with mixing by Reinhold Braig and sound direction by Braig and Simon Spillner. Andre's piece, for contrabass clarinet, cello, cimbalom, percussion, piano, and live electronics, is performed by Collegium Novum Zürich (Elmar Schmid, contrabass clarinet; Imke Frank, cello; Françoise Rivalland, cimbalom; Martin Lorenz, percussion; and Christoph Grund, piano) conducted by Detlef Heusinger, with sound direction by Michael Acker, Sven Kestel, and Joachim Haas.