Golpea Tu Cerebro, Spanish Underground Cassette Culture, 1980-1988

NON 1001LP NON 1001LP

Golpea Tu Cerebro ("Shake Your Brain") is the first ever vinyl compilation dedicated to the unknown yet fascinating Spanish underground cassette scene from the '80s. During the early to mid-80s, with few resources but unlimited imagination, some people all across Spain (some of them very young) started recording at home their experimental, noise, electronic, and industrial cassettes. They were influenced by DIY, futurism, dada, mail-art as well as by the early industrial bands (Throbbing Gristle, Whitehouse, Nurse With Wound, SPK, Cabaret Voltaire, NON, Esplendor Geométrico, etc), which were championed in Spain thanks to adventurous radio shows, fanzines, and mail order catalogues selling imported and domestic albums and cassettes. This was probably the first DIY and truly independent music scene in Spain. The dark side of the "Movida" -- Individualism and avant-gardism in opposition to superficiality and emptiness. Most of these projects were just one-man operations or collectives created by friends: underground tape labels like ä.d.n, El Consumo Del Miedo, Auxilio de Cientos, S.T.I., Obreros del Sonido, Toracic Tapes, 3EM, and fanzines like Cloruro Sónico, Necronomicon, Particular Motors, Syntorama, El Papel de la Merienda. They released their cassettes in limited homemade editions and there were lot of exchanges with other creators and participations in compilation cassettes from worldwide labels within the International Tape Network. On this compilation, you'll find legendary names like La Otra Cara De Un Jardín, Comando Bruno, Línea Táctica, Francisco López, Uvegraf, Ética Makinal, L'akstremaunçió, Neo Zelanda, Interacción, Técnica Material, Físodo 13.4, along with obscurities like El Enterrador Enterrado, 1985, Zumbi-2, Brigada Nadie, and more. Including tracks originally released on rare cassettes and compilations along with a few previously unreleased ones. Sound taken from the original cassettes/reel-to reels and remastered by Ángel Álvarez (Linneo Dos). Primitive harsh noise; dark electronics; wild tape manipulation; electroacoustic noise, extreme sound art and just homemade weirdness. Also features Bulbo Raquídeo, El Punto De Vista Operativo, Félix Menkar, C-307, Quaxar, Zussamenwachsen, Polídrico, Iéximal Jélimite, Septiembre Negro, El Coleccionista De Poliedros, and Oh-Casio-Ón. RIYL: early Esplendor Geométrico, Throbbing Gristle, NON, Whitehouse, Nurse With Wound, Vivenza, Maurizio Bianchi, Merzbow. Housed in a rigid boxset; Includes 52-page bilingual English/Spanish insert includes an introduction, essay, photos, memorabilia, and detailed info about each artist; Includes download code; Edition of 440 (hand-numbered).