Sailing to Byzantium
4 x10" BOX

RLP 2150LP RLP 2150LP

Rune Grammofon celebrates 150 releases and counting with a selection of tracks showing just where the label is now, some label mainstays, personal favorites, hidden treasures, and to round it off; a beautiful exclusive from Arve Henriksen. No expenses have been spared to make this a sublime and highly-desirable collection: four 10" records -- a format loved by collectors -- different colored vinyl for each record, a big two-sided poster and a long, unedited and frank interview with label founder Rune Kristoffersen and house designer Kim Hiorthøy by UK music writer Rob Young. And all beautifully designed by Kim and individually numbered by stamp in a strictly one-off edition of only 500 copies. The title is borrowed from William Butler Yeats' meditation on art and immortality and follows in the tradition of previous compilations where Rune Grammofon have borrowed from song lyrics and poems; Love Comes Shining Over the Mountains (Jimi Hendrix), Until Human Voices Wake Us and We Drown (T.S. Eliot) and Twenty Centuries of Stony Sleep (W.B. Yeats). Finally, after deciding on the music selection, the label realized that out of the 17 tracks, almost half (eight) of them feature female artists, either as a solo artist, leader, or main singer. Needless to say, the label is quite proud of having championed so many prominent and talented women through the years. Artists include: Hedvig Mollestad Trio, Bushman's Revenge, Scorch Trio, Motorpsycho, FIRE!, Elephant9, Phaedra, Jenny Hval, The Last Hurrah!, Hilde Marie Kjersem, Tove Nilsen, Sidsel Endresen & Stian Westerhus, Maja Ratkje, Alog, Espen Eriksen Trio, Nils Økland, and Arve Henriksen.