The Orb Chronicles (20 Years of Shitkatapult)


Orbologists Dr. Alex Paterson and Thomas Fehlmann are in their lab putting together a massive sound worm by hand for the anniversary of Berlin's elite training ground, Shitkatapult. A comprehensive overview of works spanning 20 years of label history; As they often did, the Orb liked to operate right at the convolutions and interfaces between work and quote, between interpretation and punctuation. A fine, easy hour of music from the Orbital of Shitkatapult. Featuring (in mix order): Hamburger dub specialist Fenin opens the show with a darkly ambient hall "Adeto" from Mixes & Maxis, (STRIKE 117CD, 2010) and is immediately layered through with "What Is Paris?" by Bus and Dabrye from Eagles (STRIKE 146LP, 2014). Both tracks blend together like a cut-up for adults into a single track. Next is Phon.O, from his album Burn Down the Town (STRIKE 064LP, 2005) with "Verborg Nie Die 6" and wayward Finn Sami Koivikko with "Erisana" from Kut Pulatin Pt. 3 (STRIKE 028EP, 2002), delivering the most important building blocks of the minimal/tech house side of the label, coming from Cristian Vogel's "Telemorphosis" from the exiled UK artist's latest album, The Assistenz (STRIKE 160CD, 2016). Followed and once again interrupted by Cristian Vogel, from the songs and more section with The Sorry Entertainers's (Judith Juillerat, Khan of Finland, and T.Raumschmiere) "The Only Thing I Know" from Local Jet Set (STRIKE 129CD, 2011), Judith Juillerat's "Vol-au-Vent" from Soliloquy (STRIKE 067CD, 2005), Khan of Finland's "H&M Freedom" from Nicht Nur Sex (STRIKE 162CD/LP, 2017), Cristian Vogel's "Barefoot Agnete" from The Assistenz, T.Raumschmiere's "Nuclear Bedtime Stories", featuring Lilian Hak, from I Tank U (STRIKE 096CD, 2008). A gloomy lightness takes hold and seeps into the depths with Ulli Bomans and Marco Haas, aka Shrubbn!!, and the track "Drunen" from their latest album Europa (STRIKE 161CD/LP, 2016), and misfits like Frank Bretschneider's "Subharchorded Waves" from Komet (2008), Boxtype's "Spin" from Sparkflight (STRIKE 029EP, 2002), Oval's "Kasino" from OvalDNA (STRIKE 134CD, 2012), Sun Electric's "One Dub", Ricardo Villalobos remix and MM Studio counter cut, aka "Toninas" (STRIKE 085EP, 2008), culminating in Thomas Brinkmann's soul center house sache "Pig Peg" from General Eclectics (STRIKE 118CD, 2010). The Orb make for the exit with Apparat's "Not A Number" from Walls (STRIKE 084CD/LP, 2007), Tom Thiel's "Laissez Faire" (STRIKE 125CD, 2011), wrapping things up with the deeper Orb mix of Shrubbn!!'s "Echos" (STRIKE 130EP, 2012). Four different covers -- find each of the covers and piece them together to reveal the "20" pictured here.