Ships When IN STOCK.
Need Somebody To Love

OPT4 040LP OPT4 040LP

The V.I.P.'s were formed in 1978 while at Warwick University. Within weeks they were gigging at clubs in the Midlands, often on the same bill as The Specials in Coventry. Soon they found a manager, Clive Solomon, who with Timmy Mallet (now a TV and radio presenter) and both students at the university, financed the group's first single the EP Music For Funsters. In the summer of 1978, they built up a loyal following in London. The single was picked up by John Peel, who played it constantly on his BBC radio show through the year. The three-track EP was released on Clive Solomon's own Bust label. In 1979 the V.I.P.'s could be found playing all over the country, frequently on the same bill as Squire, stablemates on Clive Solomon's label. In early 1980 they went into Olympic Studios in Chiswick to record some tracks with ex-The Animals bass player and Slade/Jimi Hendrix manager, Chas Chandler. A major record deal was agreed with Gem Records/RCA and Causing Complications came out in March of 1980. To coincide with the release the V.I.P.'s went on tour supporting Secret Affair. The constant touring, recording and radio play had earned them a spot on Top of The Pops but they were suddenly told -- on the afternoon that they were due to appear -- that an industrial dispute at the BBC had resulted in the show being cancelled. They continued to record and tour, this time with Madness, The Beat, and Dexys Midnight Runners amongst others. Illness -- Jed had been touring with a collapsed lung -- and tensions saw the band play their last concert at Leicester University. A fourth and final GEM single, proved to be their last. With several songs still to be recorded, it was a frustrating time for all. Paul Shurey and Guy Morley has already made alternative plans for The New V.I.P.'s and recruited Simon Smith from The Merton Parkas to play drums while Paul returned to his native keyboards. With Tony Conway on guitar and Andy Godfrey on bass they became Mood Six. 17-track compilation of all of their studio recordings, remastered, and pressed on electric blue vinyl. Presented in gatefold sleeve with never seen before photographs, a printed lyric inner sleeve, and poster.