WG 001CD WG 001CD

This is Istanbul-based Onur Özer's first mix CD. Situated by the river Spree, known for its first-rate lineups of international talent and its famous wall-to-wall LED dancefloor installation, the Watergate Club in Berlin has quickly become one of the world's leading dance music clubs. Only 5 years after its official opening, the club now goes a step further and releases a mix CD series delivering only the finest DJ mixes by some of the club's most exiting residents and guests. With the focus being put not only on the music, but also on the packaging and design, this series will quickly become a truly sought-after collector's item, standing out in flood of mediocre music and mixes that often dilute the market. The music you'll experience when Onur Özer is behind the decks is no music to stand still to -- this is music with a fresh energy that will keep lifting your arms and your mood even higher, as the night wears on. Onur began his musical career in the late '90s, when minimal house and tech-house were making a resurgence in Istanbul. In a city oppressed by both a stifling heat and a musical style equally as stagnant, Onur helped battle to change the old rules and break old habits, breathing fresh life into a dispirited club scene. Word quickly caught on, and the clubs soon filled up for Onur's increasingly renowned sets. Onur continued to fight the cause and helped found a number of new, vanguard venues, recognized for constantly bringing new sounds, styles and names to Turkey's capital. Onur's affiliation with Watergate started off with his residency at the infamous Dumb-Unit/Vakant parties. Here, he instantly developed a close rapport with both the crowd and the club. After many stellar nights, this feeling intensified and over the years and it became inevitable that Onur would deliver the first mix CD in this exciting new series. And so here it is, for lovers of the club and good electronic dance music: we bring you Berlin. Artists include: Dewalta, Cabanne, Sammy Dee, Cassy, Jason Blakemore, Abonne, Ion Ludwig, Jens Zimmermann, Patrice Bäumel, Ralph Sliwinski, Johnny D, Hector & Star, William Kouam Djoko, Dinky, Jorge Gonzales, Zimmermann, and Sensitiva.