Eleven Years Cocoon Recordings: Selected Remix Works


The Cocoon label celebrates its 11th anniversary with a glorious 2CD compilation of tracks. Those who have followed the output of the most successful German label for electronic dance music since 2000 to date are aware of the fact that Cocoon's aim is to further the development of sound instead of sticking to nostalgia. Against this background, it may be a temporal coincidence but also totally logical that, on the occasion of the eleventh anniversary, this compilation breaks with traditions which people have come to like. So, the focus of CD1 does not lie in celebrating only the "best of" tracks, but rather in nine tracks from the past six years which have, without doubt, made some impact on clubs and dancefloors worldwide, but whose stories have not been musically "told" so far. It all begins with Alejandra Iglesias aka Dinky, whose "Acid In My Fridge" has ultimately taken her into the top league of producers. Lee Curtiss, Ryan Crosson, Seth Troxler and Shaun Reeves -- the Michigan collective Visionquest -- turns the musical masterpiece into a marvel of fragmented dub techno in a breakbeat disguise, where the 303 takes over the controls again in the end anyway. Carlo Lio pumps a maximum of distortion into Dubfire/Huntemann's "Diablo," while Steve Rachmad brilliantly purges Joel Mull's club hit "Harmonautic String" of 2007, and Gary Beck unfolds presumably the mightiest bass on this CD with his interpretation of Pig & Dan. This CD also presents such great coalitions as Guy Gerber and Kollektiv Turmstraße, Roman Flügel and Martin Buttrich, Tim Green and Argy, Paul Ritch and 2000 And One, but at least one of the tracks deserves a special mention: that what the Croatian sound wizard Petar Dundov has hauled out of Extrawelt's "Titelheld" can confidently be seen as one of the emotional moments of glory of techno in the current decade. On CD2, Patrick Kunkel presents an 80-minute mix made from 21 tracks of the label's history. With Roman Flügel's "Geht's Noch," Koletzki's "Der Mückenschwarm," Timo Maas' "Subtellite," Minilogue's "Jamaica" and "The Secret" by Joris Voorn, the mix makes absolutely clear how deep the marks are that Cocoon has left in the acoustic memory of the club scene. And so, the 11 turns into a mathematical parable of acoustic and rhythmic felicity. Other artists include: EMT, Glove, Legowelt, Len Faki, Reboot, Nick Curly, Julian Jeweil, Stephan Bodzin, Guy Gerber & Shlomi Aber, Jacek Sienkiewicz, Lucio Aquilina, David K and Loco Dice.