Eskimo Recordings Presents: The Purple Collection

ESK 509999 ESK 509999

Eskimo Recordings present The Purple Collection, the seventh release in the label's annual color series of compilations. Featuring brand new tracks from the likes of Simple Symmetry, Cavego, and Future Feelings alongside recent label highlights from Horixon, Atella, Paresse, and NTEIBINT, The Purple Collection provides another essential snapshot into today's electronic music scene. Norwegian duo Atella team-up with bonafide Scandinavian sensation AURORA for the frosty ambience of "Ascension". Berlin duo Languages pick-up the baton with the stunning Balearic heart-melter, "Helicopters". Inspired by the Turkish music of his grandfather, Dogu Civicik makes his debut on the label with "Andromalius IV", a heavy, psychedelic brew of chugging beats, delicate jazz flourishes, drones, and industrial sounds. Brooklyn producer IV Edition teams up with Californian singer Lilianna Wilde for "Whose Man's" a languid, nostalgic jam that samples the sound of rain and a close-up recording of fire ants. Russian producer Antenna offers "Sparks" a vintage-sounding cosmic disco gem with warm arpeggios. Parisian producer Simon Says has been doing his thing for over two decades now and it shows in the insouciant funk of "Feel Me", an outrageously funky sex jam. Mexican producers Dan Solo and Future Feelings turn up both the heat and the tempo with "What Else Can I Do", a perfect slice of electro-funk all topped off with the heartfelt vocals of Tony Browne. Keeping the party vibe going Norwegian producer Cavego steps up next with the snappily titled and irrepressibly upbeat "Vår I Øyer" ("Spring in Øyer"). One of the label's veterans, Greek producer NTEIBINT teams up with his fellow Athenian Σtella for a sci-fi disco ballad full of heartbreaks and mellow synth lines. Swedish producer Paresse takes "Quiet Light" from his Sloth Machine EP (2017), a sun-kissed instrumental track. Russian duo Simple Symmetry return with their original track "Prince Of Persia" -- melodic, emotional music that isn't afraid to wear its heart on its sleeve. Icelandic producer Hermigervill's "Disco Borealis" is another stand-out piece of cosmic-Scandi-disco, playful yet still primed for commotion on the dancefloor. Norway's BOKA offer "Space Issues", a wonderfully eclectic track that skips between classic cosmic disco arpeggios, Skatt Bros style chanting, thumping house pianos, and acidic squelches. To close out the collection, British-based duo Horixon and Norwegian singer Else Born offer "Hello", a quiet storm of numinous pads, sparse piano chords, and an almost two-step beat. Cover features a photo by Danish photographer Ken Hermann.