Permanent Vacation X


Four LP version. Includes a bonus track by Joakim "Camino De La Luna (Dub Version)"; Includes download code. Even eternity has to be measured and that's why it is time to celebrate ten years of Permanent Vacation with a big fat anniversary compilation. A lot has happened since Tom Bioly and Benjamin Fröhlich dusted off the mirror balls in Munich. Since the 1970s, the city always had a reputation for being one of the world's disco capitals and Permanent Vacation took good care of this precious heritage being partly responsible for the new found love of disco music and its variations such as Balearic, cosmic, krautrock or protohouse. Back then Tom, who for several years had been working in the music business, was a regular at Play Records that was run by Benjamin, who had also been busy as a DJ and party promoter. Soon they became friends and discovered their astoundingly similar taste in music. Their first release, a compilation of the same name, Permanent Vacation, was celebrated as "razor-sharp, pulsating, pornographic, all fuses opening crazy pop" by one of Germany's leading daily newspaper, Süddeutsche Zeitung. Permanent Vacation has since become one of the flagships of the new movement and had several genre-defining hits. To reduce Permanent Vacation to disco and Balearic wouldn't do justice to the label's ever-growing catalog. Bioly and Fröhlich deem disco a form of mentality anyway, defying all too fixed and earnest paradigms of dance music. This is why the catalog also comprises library music compilations, krautrock, soundtracks of horror flicks, electro, vocoder poetry, cheerful party anthems, oddball house, frequent subversions of any categorization, blissful pop, folky house, electronica, and cinematic soundscapes. Permanent Vacation remains a solid constant in the obscure jungle of modern dance music. For this compilation, Benjamin Fröhlich and Tom Bioly were able to gather all the regular vacationers (including themselves) and some special guests, all of whom contributed exclusives. The result features 16 new, unreleased, and exclusive tracks that capture the whole Permanent Vacation sound spectrum. Features: Red Axes, John Talabot, TB & Bostro Pesopeo, Pional, Lake People, Daniel Bortz, Benjamin Fröhlich, Woolfy Vs. Projections, Mano Le Tough, Lord Of The Isles, Tensnake, Tuff City Kids, Joakim, The Drifter, Lauer, New Jackson, and Margie Jean Lewis.