Eskimonde - A Decade of Eskimo Recordings

ESK 505648 ESK 505648

Eskimo presents a 5CD box set in celebration of a decade of Eskimo Recordings. The first two CDs are retrospective and select the very best from the label's extensive back catalog. CD3 includes 12 new and unreleased remixes from the likes of DJ Harvey, Solomun, Deetron, Moonlight Matters, and many more. To conclude in style, there are two bonus mixes from The Glimmers, including a few exclusives, too. At 5 CDs and nearly 70 tracks, Eskimonde is a testament to Eskimo's decade-plus visionary output. It comes complete with a remix album that is testament to the respect they command from DJs and there are remixes from legendary figures and hot new talent. The elusive, cult figure Harvey turns Dr. Beat's "Mediterraneo" into a seagull and fuzzy guitar-laden, percussion-driven delight and remixer du jour Solomun mixes Low Motion Disco's "Love Love Love." There are more fast-rising stars and disco blog favorites included here: the mysterious Claptone tackles Dirty Minds' 'I'm for Pleasure' and Surrender! revive a vintage disco track from West Phillips. There are long-standing label favorites, too, like It's A Fine Line (Ivan Smagghe and Tim Paris) and Reverso 68 who rework L.H.A.S. Inc. and Stars On 33, respectively. Moonlight Matters remixes a track made the year he was born: Allez Allez's 1981 homage to Grace Jones' "African Queen." Eskimonde would not be complete without some fresh input from The Glimmers, and here they split up to provide a DJ mix each. There are exclusive remixes within that both get the Ghent treatment: West Phillips' 1983 tune "I'm a Sucker for a Pretty Face," reworked by Soulwax and The Glimmers' own unreleased remix of Aeroplane's "We Can't Fly" (previously rinsed to death on YouTube). The music within Eskimonde is well-heeled, organic and sensuous, teetering on the edge of disco and rock. It is, of course, beautifully packaged like its predecessors to be cherished by its owners. Other artists include: Ilya Santana, Letherette, Hot Toddy, Ron Basejam, Morgan Geist, Lindstrøm & Prins Thomas, Simone Fedi, Ewan Pearson, Downtown Party Network, Bottin & Rodion, Hiem, Stratus, Todd Terje, Low Motion Disco, Sebastien Tellier, Quiet Village, LSB, Maelstrom, Breakbot, In Flagranti, Visti & Meyland, Trentemøller, Dance Disorder, Radio Slave, The Neon Judgement, Tiga, The Sexmachines, Whitey, Oliver, Kris Menace, Blende, The Living Islands, Jean Winner, Zimmer, Drop Out Orchestra and DiskJokke.