Next Wave Acid Punx

ESK 512324 ESK 512324

Next Wave Acid Punx is a 38-track journey across nearly 40 years of dark club music compiled and curated by Berlin-based Musician and DJ, Luca Venezia aka Curses. Curses' set takes you from music by Colourbox and Suicide to EBM pioneers, Front 242 through to recent club hits from Zombies in Miami, and 12 brand new, totally exclusive tracks from the likes of Shubostar, Chinaski, and Curses himself. Exploring the darker side of club music, Next Wave Acid Punx traces decades of a musical passion and joins the dots between the EBM, new beat, Italo and acid house tracks of the 1980s to present music of today. "Putting together a compilation like this is a strange experience. I've never been one to stay still too long. Whether as a musician, DJ, or producer I'd never wanted to tie myself down to one scene or one sound, always looking to move on before I'd maybe run a project completely dry. With an album you create a snapshot of who you are during that time in life, with a DJ set maybe just that night, but this felt more like trying to sum up a lifetime of musical experiences . . . The first chapter takes early tracks from bands who came directly out of the punk and new wave scenes, that played a major role in forming my musical taste. The second chapter celebrates current music influenced by these early pioneers, while the third chapter comprises exclusive new music made for this compilation, with the passion for these genres in mind..." --Luca Venezia (Berlin, February 2021)

3CD features: Borghesia, Gina X Performance, Suicide, Demolition Group, A Split Second, BPM AM, Ted Milton, Front 242, Colourbox, Yello, Mystery, In-D, Judy Torres, Hard Corps, Moderna & Theus Mago, Middle Sky Boom, Eliezer, Il Est Vilaine, Tiempo De Maldad, Alvee, Zombies In Miami, Moscoman, Juan Maclean, Fantastic Twins, Damon Jee & Darlyn Vlys, Zakmina, Radial Gaze, You Man, Paresse, Rina x Benji x Megaphonim, Modular Project, Curses, Chinaski, Shubostar, Cornelius Doctor, Mufti, Amarcord, Franz Scala, Tronik Youth, Cardopusher, Kendal & David Carretta, Local Suicide & Skelesys, and Pablo Bozzi.